Note to Self: the shape of things to come

This week, something on the future of this blog.

I started Notes from Self in July 2013 – 1.5 years ago – and I have grown quite fond of my little blog.

Back in 2013, I was dismayed with the situation surrounding Edward Snowden and his NSA revelations in general and annoyed with an open letter by MSNBC anchor Melissa Harris-Perry in particular. I needed a place to post a response to an open letter to Edward Snowden she had read out during one of her programmes, asking him to “come on home”. My response was my first blog post. Since then, I have tried my best to post once a week. Except on certain occasions, for example when I was traveling or during the holidays, I stuck with that goal.

Quite a lot has happened since then, both in terms of my chosen subject matter – which is mostly surveillance, civil rights, free speech, and security – and for me personally. A little less than a year after starting this blog, I started writing for a couple of online magazines and I am now relatively frequently publishing articles on politics, digital and civil rights, surveillance and so on. I am also doing a lot of reviewing – mostly film at the moment. I am greatly enjoying it all but as I am doing it next to my day job, I have decided that I am going to need to scale back a little on the blogging side. The goal of blogging weekly – and posting on Sundays – derived as much from there being lots of things I wanted to write about and from wanting a weekly writing exercise. To keep me in good shape so to speak. I now feel that I am in a position where I am getting regular exercise through my other writing, so rather than continue with my weekly schedule on here, I have decided to turn Notes From Self into a slower blog. The new goal being to blog less regularly (i.e. get rid of the every-Sunday rule) whenever there is something I really want to discuss or during such weeks when I am getting no other “exercise”.

This week I have had an article published (in German) on David Cameron’s suggestion that banning encryption might be something worth thinking about. I have also written three reviews. So I think I have earned a break 😛 I am quite looking forward to reading this feature in the New Yorker about why adding to the existing “haystack” of mass surveillance data might not be the best way of keeping us safe and to catching up with news on journalist Barret Brown (sentenced to five years this week) and the revelation that GCHQ has been capturing emails from journalists.

I shall write again soon.

Leave a Reply

