Pussy Riot’s Nadezhda Tolokonnikova: Why I have gone on hunger strike

Pussy Riot’s Nadezhda Tolokonnikova: Why I have gone on hunger strike

I am a bit busy at the moment so I will take a couple of days longer than usual to post to this blog. Also, things have gone a bit quiet around the NSA and Edward Snowden at the moment. I have found new material to look at and discuss though and I am going to start working on it asap.

Meanwhile, I leave you with this link on a different (if not entirely unrelated) topic. After all, this is Russia whose president has recently been championing some people’s rights to liberty and free speech while the country continues its crackdown on the rights of others. This is one such case. We have all heard of Pussy Riot I presume. I you haven’t, I suggest you read it up. Personally, I admit to not being anywhere near as well informed as I should be on this one but I know enough to realize how outrageous it is, especially when viewed in the context of recent events.

Nadezhda Tolokonnikova, one of the Pussy Riot members convicted of “hooliganism motivated by religious hatred” for miming “a song calling on the Virgin Mary to “kick out Putin””, is now on hunger strike. This is her explaining her reasons why.

Leave a Reply

